Grow your own food

Here are the leeks I planted today. I planted 30 of then as we all like leeks. I (after 9 years of planting a small veggie garden) have finally realized I need to plant only the food we actually like. Sounds simple doesn’t it? But for some reason I’d put in tomatoes and runner beans, neither of which I like, because they grew well. Duh!! So now I have a plan…

Next these cute little lettuce went in the garden. I bought them from a local farm called The Green Room Farm. They grow them organically, and I love the colour. I planted 12 of them and will give some away to friends as we won’t eat that many.

Now here is the cutest little cauliflower I think I’ve ever seen. You can almost see it trying to grow, the potential is amazing. A beautiful white flower, I can hardly wait. I have kale that has been in the garden for years and will not die, strawberries, blueberries, rhubarb, and turnips. I will plant some corn and some sugar peas, the kids love picking the peas and eating the pod and all. I am by no means an expert gardener and our garden doesn’t supply enough for us to live on, but it does show the kids where food comes from and it supplements the food I buy from the grocery store. Yum yum.

About Veggie Food For Five

Veggie food is what we eat and there are five of us in the family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

